top of page

Mornings at Home


I went home this weekend...again. Going home wasn't something that was a priority to me until recently. Its not that I am home sick (ok thats part of the reason) but its more because everything is just easier there. I can drive places and all of my resources are at my finger tips as well as old friends and familiar places. The food though, is the least stressful thing I have to deal with at home compared to college.

Being a dancer Ive always been aware of what I eat. Food is what gives you energy and heals you. At home it was always easy to make a healthy meal and it wasn't until college that I started to notice I really took that for granted. Dinning halls and meal plans can make eating a little tricky sometimes. (Theres hacks and ways around wasting your swipes, paying too much for what doesn't need to be paid for etc. but thats another post in itself).

This awareness of food has made me notice my lack of appreciation for food preparation and enjoyment. I always thought I hated cooking and was bad at it. It was either you were born with the magic touch of not always burning what you cook or you weren't. I always felt I fell into the non magical category. To shed some light on why I felt this way I should tell you that once I caught ramen noodles on fire in the microwave. Now I think Im not a good chef because I am careless and am not the best at working fast in stressful situations. Which is kind of what happened in my ramen noodles experience. I was little and didn't read the directions all the way through which lead to a small fire. Being in a dorm made me actually miss making my own food.

While I was at home I thought I would challenge myself in a fun way to wake my brain up from the sleepy slump it was in. I decided to make my mom breakfast. I made sunny side up eggs on whole grain toast with avocado. One of her favorites as well as mine. It was kind of fun actually and made me think about how much I actually care about preparation of food, food quality and what we put into our bodies.

Maybe this will inspire me to do more with this genre in the future.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page